JAZZPAR Artists - Zapolski Quartet

   Zapolski Quartet was part of The Jim Hall JAZZPAR 98 Quartet + 4: Chris Potter (s), Jim Hall (g), Thomas Ovesen (b), and Terry Clarke (d) + The chamber string ensemble Zapolski Quartet.

   Zapolski Quartet consists of Alexander Zapolski (1. vln), Jacob Soelberg (2. vln), Stine Hasbirk (vla) and Vanja Louro (cel) and was formed in 1993 gathered round the Russian violinist Alexander Zapolski, and all its members play in the Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra. Zapolski Quartet rapidly made its mark as one of the leading chamber ensembles in the country, with a large, wide-ranging repertoire. The Zapolski Quartet has given concerts in Vienna, Bratislava, Athens and Scandinavian cities. The repertoire is wide-ranging: from Haydn and Mozart via Carl Nielsen to contemporary music i.e. participation in the world premiere of Per Nørgård's opera Nuit des Hommes in 96.
Crossover and the innovative repertoire also interest the Zapolski Quartet, one result being the collaboration in 1995 with Jazzgruppe 90 on works for big band and string quartet. The quartet is characterized by its predilection for arrangement of works of different styles including pieces by Bartok, Dvorak, George Gershwin, Jimi Hendrix and a string quartet version of "Peter and the Wolf" by Sergei Prokofiev.
   Zapolski Quartet has made a handful of praised recording.

| Back to The Artists - Overview |